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I. BUREAU DIRECTIVE: 
 

Probation & Parole Bureau employees will follow established procedures for the collection of victim 
restitution, supervisory fees, and other fines and fees from offenders supervised by the Bureau.  
 

II. DEFINITION: 
 

Department/DOC – The Montana Department of Corrections.  
 

OMIS-Offender Management Information System – The Department’s electronic data collection and 
reporting system. 
 

Supervision Fee – A fee assessed to each offender under the supervision of the Probation & Parole 
Bureau pursuant to §46-23-1031, MCA, for the basic costs of supervision and as a means of holding 
the offender accountable. 
 

Victim – The person against whom a felony crime has been committed, or a family member of that 
person.  Other individuals may be recognized as victims on a case-by-case basis. 
 

III. PROCEDURES: 
 

The sentencing courts will be requested to order victim restitution, supervision fees, and other fines 
and fees pursuant to Montana statutes.  Probation & Parole (P&P) Officers will actively pursue and 
monitor the payment of the amounts owed by offenders as determined by court judgments. 
 

A. Victim Restitution:   
 

Assisting victims of crime by collecting restitution from offenders is a goal of the P&P Bureau.    
§46-18-241, MCA, Condition of restitution, states “The duty to pay full restitution under the 
sentence remains with the offender or the offender’s estate until full restitution is paid.  If the 
offender is under state supervision, payment of restitution is a condition of any probation or 
parole.”   
 

If an offender is not making a good faith effort to pay victim restitution on a regular basis and 
has income, wages may be garnished, income tax refunds may be withheld, and/or P&P 100-
1(A) Report of Violation may be filed with the Court. 
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B. Supervision Fees:   
 

1. Offenders residing in the state of Montana are required to pay a supervision fee in the amount 
of $120 to $360 per year. Increases in supervision fees are retroactive, except when court 
orders specify an amount. 
• Standard Offenders:  The supervision fee assessed to standard offenders (those not on ISP) 

is $21/month.  This includes offenders on conditional release status. 
• Felony Drug Offense Conviction:  Offenders may be assessed a fee of no less than 

$50/month if they are convicted of a felony drug offense and are placed on an ISP in lieu 
of imprisonment under §45-9-202, MCA.   

• ISP-Intensive Supervision Program Offenders:  Offenders placed on ISP are charged 
$25/month supervision fees unless they are a person convicted of a dangerous drug felony 
offense and placed on ISP in lieu of prison.  

• ISP Sanction Offenders:  Offenders placed on ISP as part of a hearing sanction will be 
assessed $21/month for supervision fees. 

• Satellite-based Monitoring:  Offenders under continuous satellite-based monitoring shall 
pay a monthly fee for the actual monthly cost of equipment and services.  The total 
amount of the fee may not exceed $4000/year. 

 

2. Offenders who are placed out of state will pay supervision fees to the state providing 
supervision. 

 

3. Funds collected from supervision fees are generally used for safety equipment, training, or 
other needs for the P&P Bureau, per P&P 20-3 Expenditure of Supervision Fees. 
  

C. Court-Ordered Fines and Fees: 
 

At the time of sentencing, District Courts will impose fines and fees as established by Montana 
statutes.  The Court may grant permission for payment to be made within a specified period of 
time or in specified installments. 
 

D. PROCEDURE: RESPONSIBILITY: 
 

1. Court judgment is reviewed for restitution, fees and fine amounts 
and offender payment timelines.  If possible, victim is contacted. 

 

2. During initial sign-up: 
a. Offender is informed of his/her monetary obligations as ordered 

and directed by the court and placed on payment schedule.  
He/she is advised of the importance of demonstrating a good 
faith effort to make full and timely payments and of the possible 
consequences for failing to pay as directed by the court and P&P 
Bureau. 

b. Offender is provided a copy of P&P 60-7(A) Supervision Fees-
Offender Rights & Responsibilities for review, which outlines 
responsibilities and waiver procedures. 

c. The monetary obligation amounts are indicated on P&P 60-1 
(E&F) Conditions of Probation and Parole. 

 
 
 

P&P Officer 
 
 

 
P&P Officer 
 
 
 
 
 
P&P Officer 
 
 
P&P Officer 
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d. Offender signs P&P 60-1(H) Wage Garnishment Statement.  
Original is forwarded to the Department’s Collection Unit and a 
copy is placed in the offender’s field file. The Department will 
not move to garnish wages unless the offender fails to pay 
restitution.  (See #10 below.) 

e. Offender is advised of the following: 
i. Restitution payments and supervision fees are paid to the 

DOC Collection Unit, P.O. Box 201350, Helena, MT 59620. 
All payments must be made with either a money order or 
cashier’s check, and offender will list his/her name, District 
Court Judgment Number (ex. DC-01-45), and County of 
Sentence on money order/check. One money order or 
cashier’s check may be submitted for payment; however, the 
offender must specify how much money is to go to restitution 
and how much to supervision fees.  If the offender fails to do 
so, the entire amount will be applied to restitution.   

ii. Court-ordered fines and fees are paid to the Clerk of Court in 
the sentencing jurisdiction.  

  

3. P&P Officers will not collect cash from offenders, and collecting 
money orders or cashier’s checks is not advisable. In the event a 
money order/check is collected, Officer will make a photocopy of 
the money order/check, place copy in offender’s field file, and 
immediately deliver/mail the money order/check to the DOC 
Collection Unit or the Clerk of the District Court.  

 

4. Current restitution and supervision fee information is available in 
offender’s OMIS record. Discuss, pursue and monitor the collection 
of victim restitution, fees and fines at least monthly with offender. 

 

Status of offender payments is recorded in OMIS Chronological 
History and P&P 60-2(A) Financial Obligations Compliance Form 
may be used for the tracking of these payments. 
a. If requested by Officer, offender will bring in receipt verifying 

payments are on schedule.  A copy of the receipt will be placed 
in the offender’s case file.   

b. The court, RA or designee will be notified of supervision fee 
overpayments, and refunds will be requested when appropriate. 

 

5. At the time of reassessment, or on at least a quarterly basis, check 
the status of offender payments and balances due with the Clerk of 
District Court or county office responsible for payment records on 
fines and fees. 

 

6. Changes in the supervision fee paid monthly or annually will be 
made using form P&P 60-7(C) Supervision Fee Modifications, and 
offender will sign the form. Original will be placed in the 
offender’s file with a copy provided to the offender and the 
Collection Unit.   

 

Offender 
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7. For those offenders determined to be unable to pay supervision fees 
due to significant financial hardship, the fee may be reduced or 
waived. 

 

P&P 60-7(B) Supervision Fee Waiver Request will be filed with the 
court for probationers, the BOPP for parolees, or the RA for 
interstate and conditional release offenders. If a reduction in, or 
waiver of, supervision fees is granted, the P&P Officer will forward 
a signed copy of the Waiver Request to the Collection Unit.  Any 
failure to pay supervision fees without securing a hardship waiver is 
a violation of state law. 

 

8. If offender has income, but has failed to maintain restitution 
payments in a timely fashion, the Collection Unit may be contacted 
to look at wage garnishment options and/or attachment of tax 
refunds.   
a. Provide offender’s name, social security number, case cause 

number and employer name and address to the Collection Unit. 
(Signed P&P 60-1(H) Wage Garnishment Statement should have 
been filed with Collection Unit at sign-up.)   

b. The Collection Unit will do the necessary paperwork and 
notifications to arrange to have a wage garnishment and/or tax 
refund attachment implemented. 

 

9. Instances of non-compliance or of an offender failing to make a 
good-faith effort to pay restitution will be referred to the RA for 
resolution and may result in an intervention hearing and/or 
revocation.   

 

10. If restitution will not be paid in full prior to an offender’s  discharge 
from supervision, P&P Officer submits P&P 100-1(A) Report of 
Violation to the County Attorney giving adequate time for filing a 
Petition to Revoke prior to the offender’s discharge. 

 

11. The offender’s obligation to pay full victim restitution remains until 
paid. 
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IV. CLOSING: 

 

Questions concerning this procedure shall be directed to the Regional Administrator. 
 
Forms 
P&P 60-7 (A)  Supervision Fees-Offender Rights & Responsibilities - OMIS 
P&P 60-7 (B)  Supervision Fee Waiver Request 
P&P 60-7 (C)  Supervision Fee Modifications 
P&P 60-1 (E&F) Conditions of Probation & Parole - OMIS 
P&P 60-1 (H) Wage Garnishment Statement - OMIS  
P&P 60-2 (A)  Financial Obligations Compliance Form 
P&P 100-1 (A)  Report of Violation 


