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I. PURPOSE: 
 

 Probation and Parole Division employees will enforce the applicable Montana statutes in the release, 
registration, and notification requirements for sexual and violent offenders.  In addition, established 
procedures will be followed for requesting a sexual offender level designation, if not previously provided 
by the courts. 
 

II.  DEFINITIONS: 
 

High-Risk Sexual Offender – A person 18 years of age or older who is designated as a sexually violent 
predator under §46-23-509, MCA, and has committed a sexual offense against a victim 12 years of age 
or younger. 
 

PPD-Probation and Parole Division – The Division oversees the Probation & Parole regional offices, 
interstate transfers, and the facilities providing assessments and sanctions, training, prerelease, and 
treatment services.    
 

Registration Agency – The police department of the city or town in which an offender resides; or the 
sheriff’s office of the county in which an offender resides, if the residence is in a place other than a city 
or town. 
 

Release from Custody – Placement of an offender outside of the confines of a state correctional facility 
or PPD program/facility, i.e. parole, probation, conditional release, discharge, in or out of the state of 
Montana.   
 

Residence – The location at which a person regularly resides, regardless of the number of days or nights 
spent at that location, that can be located by a street address, including a house, apartment building, 
motel, hotel, or recreational or other vehicle.  The term does not mean a homeless shelter. 
 

Sexual Offender Evaluator – A person qualified under Administrative Rules of Montana 
§20.7.Subchapter 3 to conduct psychosexual evaluations of sexual offenders and sexually violent 
predators. 
 

Sexual Offender Level Designation – A level given to a person convicted of a sexual offense that 
indicates the risk of a repeated sexual offense by that person and the threat posed to public safety (also 
referred to as “tier-level designation”): 

Level 1 – the risk of a repeat sexual offense is low; 
Level 2 – the risk of a repeat sexual offense is moderate; 
Level 3 – the risk of a repeat sexual offense is high, there is a threat to public safety, and the sexual 
 offender evaluator believes that the offender is a sexually violent predator. 
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Sexual Offense – Any violation of, or attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit a violation of the 
offenses contained in the definition under §46-23-502(9)(a), MCA; any violation of a law of another 
state, a tribal government, or the federal government that is reasonably equivalent to a violation listed in 
(9)(a) or for which the offender was required to register after an adjudication or conviction. 
 

Sexual or Violent Offender – A person who has been convicted of or, in youth court, found to have 
committed or been adjudicated for a sexual or violent offense. 
 

Transient – An offender who has no residence. 
 

Violent Offense – Any violation of, or attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit a violation of the 
offenses contained in the definition under §46-23-502(13)(a), MCA; any violation of a law of another 
state, a tribal government, or the federal government reasonably equivalent to a violation listed in (13)(a). 
 

III.  PROCEDURES: 
 

A. APPLICABLE OFFENSES  
 

1. The Montana Department of Justice (DOJ) maintains the Sexual/Violent Offender Registry 
(SVOR). Information contained on the registry must be disseminated according to §46-23-508, 
MCA. 

 

2. Montana Code Annotated Sexual Offender Registration Applicable Offenses 
Conviction on or after 7/1/1989: 

§45-5-301  Unlawful Restraint (victim is <18 and offender is not parent of victim) 
§45-5-302 Kidnapping (victim is <18 and offender is not parent of victim) 
§45-5-303 Aggravated Kidnapping (victim is <18 and offender is not parent of victim) 
§45-5-502(3) Sexual Assault (victim is <16 and offender is 3 or more years older) 
§45-5-503 Sexual Intercourse w/out Consent 
§45-5-504(1) Indecent Exposure (1st conviction-victim is <18 and offender is 18 or older) 
§45-5-504(2)(c) Indecent Exposure (3rd or subsequent conviction) 
§45-5-507 Incest (victim is <18 and offender is 3 or more years older  
§45-5-603(1)(b)  Aggravated Promotion of Prostitution (victim is <18) 
§45-5-625 Sexual Abuse of Children 

Conviction on or after 5/11/2007: 
§45-5-507(5) Incest (victim is 12 or younger and offender is 18 or older at time of offense) 
§45-5-601(3) Prostitution (victim is <18 and offender is 18 or older at time of offense) 
§45-5-602(3) Promoting Prostitution (victim is <12 and offender is 18 or older at time of 

offense) 
§45-5-603(2)(b) Aggravated Promotion of Prostitution (victim is <12 and offender is 18 or 

older at time of offense) 
Conviction between 7/1/2013 and 7/1/2015: 

§45-5-310 Sexual Servitude of Child 
§45-5-311 Patronizing a Child 

Conviction on or after 4/2/2015: 
§45-5-502 Sexual Assault (offender is professional licensed under Title 37 and offense 

committed during treatment, consultation, interview, or evaluation of a 
person’s physical or mental condition, ailment, disease, or injury) 
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Conviction on or after 7/1/2015: 
§45-5-704 Sexual Servitude 
§45-5-705 Patronizing Victim of Sexual Servitude 

Conviction on or after 10/1/2015: 
§45-5-504(3) Indecent Exposure (victim is <16 and offender is more than 4 years older) 
 

a. Sexual offenders sentenced by any state or federal court on or after July 1, 1989, or who, as a 
result of sentencing, are under the supervision of the Department on or after July 1, 1989 are 
required to register with the DOJ’s SVOR. 

b. An offender convicted of an applicable offense is required to register for life.  
i. Except for certain circumstances, [see §46-23-506(5)]: 

1) a Level 1 sexual offender may return to the court after 10 years and request this 
requirement be removed. 

2) a Level 2 sexual offender may return to the court after 25 years and request this 
requirement be removed. 

ii.  Release from probation or parole does not automatically relieve the offender of the duty to 
register. 

iii.  The DOJ will review the cases of those offenders convicted of Sexual Servitude of Child 
(§45-5-310, MCA, repealed 7/1/2015) and/or Patronizing a Child (§45-5-311, MCA, 
repealed 7/1/2015) to determine if registration is still required. 

c. Offenders ordered by the court to register regardless of the offense are no longer required to 
register once their sentence is discharged. 

 

3. Montana Code Annotated Violent Offender Registration Applicable Offenses 
§45-5-102 Deliberate Homicide 
§45-5-103 Mitigated Deliberate Homicide 
§45-5-202 Aggravated Assault 
§45-5-206 Partner/Family Member Assault (3rd or subsequent offense) 
§45-5-302 Kidnapping (if victim is not a minor) 
§45-5-303 Aggravated Kidnapping (if victim is not a minor) 
§45-5-401 Robbery 
§45-6-103 Arson 
§45-5-210(1)(b)  Assault on a Peace Officer (reasonable apprehension of serious bodily injury) 
§45-5-210(1)(c)  Assault on a Peace Officer (bodily injury with a weapon) 
§45-5-210(1)(d) Assault on a Peace Officer (serious bodily injury) 
§45-5-212 Assault on a Minor 
§45-5-213 Assault With a Weapon 
§45-9-132 Operation of a Clandestine Lab (conviction on or after 10/1/2003) 

 

a. Violent offenders sentenced by any state or federal court on or after October 1, 1995, or who, 
as a result of sentencing, are under the supervision of the Department on or after October 1, 
1995 are required to register with the DOJ. 

b. A violent offender is required to register for 10 years following the date of sentencing or release 
from a state correctional facility, whichever is later; however, this does not include PPD 
programs/facilities.  
i. If the offender is convicted of failing to register or maintain registration, or another felony 

offense during this time, he/she will be required to register for life.   
ii.  Offenders who were on the DOJ’s Violent Offender Registry prior to October 1, 2005, will 

not be required to register after 10 years.   
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iii.  Any offender who is on the Registry after October 1, 2005, will not be relieved of the duty 
to register until a petition is filed with the sentencing court and an order is granted by the 
court relieving the offender of registration.  

iv. Being released from probation or parole does not automatically relieve the offender of the 
duty to register. 

c. Offenders ordered by the court to register regardless of the offense are no longer required to 
register once their sentence is discharged. 

 

4. Crimes of Attempt, Solicitation, Conspiracy, or Accountability:  The definitions of sexual offense 
and violent offense include the crimes of attempt (§45-4-103, MCA), solicitation (§45-4-101, 
MCA), and conspiracy (§45-4-102, MCA); therefore, offenders who are found guilty of the crimes 
of attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy of one of the qualifying offenses are required to register as 
a sexual or violent offender [§§46-23-502(9) and (13), MCA].  The Attorney General’s Office 
also considers accountability an offense for which registration is required (§§45-2-301 and 302, 
MCA). 

 

5. Deferred Sentences:  When an offender has served his/her deferred sentence, the offender is not 
automatically removed from the SVOR.  The DOJ requires a dismissal order before the offender 
is removed. 

 

6. DNA Testing/Collection:  Effective October 1, 2013, an offender required to register as a sexual 
or violent offender under §46-23-504, MCA, shall provide a biological sample for DNA analysis 
(§44-6-103, MCA). 

 

7. Mandated Continuous Satellite-Based Monitoring (§46-23-1010, MCA) 
a. Some convictions of an applicable offense require an offender to participate in continuous 

satellite-based monitoring when released on parole. 
b. Level 3 Sex Offenders:  If a sexual offender committed his/her offense on or after July 1, 2005, 

and is designated as a Level 3 sexual offender by the court, the sentencing judge shall, as a 
condition of probation, parole, conditional release, or deferment or suspension of sentence, 
require the offender to participate in the program for the continuous satellite-based monitoring 
of sexual offenders (§46-18-206, MCA).   

c. An offender on continuous satellite-based monitoring shall pay to the Department or designee 
a supervisory fee of no more than $4000 a year (§46-23-1031, MCA).  The offender may 
complete and submit PPD 1.5.100(B) GPS Fee Waiver Request. 

 

B. PROCEDURES AND RESPONSIBILITIES FOR REGISTRATION OF  SEXUAL AND 
VIOLENT OFFENDERS  
 

1. Registration of Offenders Due to be Released from Custody:  
a. At least 10 days prior to the release of custody of a sexual/violent 

offender, the IPPO or Prerelease Liaison will: 
i. use PPD 1.5.100(A) Duty to Register Letter to inform the 

offender in writing of his/her statutory obligation to register with 
the appropriate registration agency (agency) within three (3) 
business days of arrival in a city or county.  Offender must read 
and sign Letter; 

ii.  complete the SVOR Registration Form including the address at 
which the offender intends to reside and ensuring offender has 
initialed and signed the 3rd page; 

 

 

 
IPPO/PRC Liaison 
Offender 
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1) when applicable for high-risk sexual offenders being released 
to Probation & Parole supervision, IPPO/PRC Liaison will 
verify the offender’s residence and place of employment 
comply with court-ordered conditions and/or the 
requirements of §45-5-513, MCA. 

iii.  send the SVOR Registration Form and a copy of the Duty to 
Register Letter to DOJ. If emailing forms to dojsvor@mt.gov, 
email subject line must have the offender’s registration type, 
name, and date of birth. 

iv. provide copies of the forms to the agency where the offender 
intends to reside. 

v. if an offender registered previously with the local agency upon 
arrival at a prerelease, inform the offender using PPD 
1.5.100(A) Duty to Register Letter to re-contact the local agency 
within three (3) business days to inform officials of the 
offender’s intended address change. 

vi. verify that a DNA sample has been collected (see DOC Policy 
1.5.13, DNA Testing/Collection of Biological Samples). 

b. Offenders failing to register may be prosecuted under §46-23-507, 
MCA, and will be subject to disciplinary action. 

 

2. Registration of Offenders under Probation & Parole (P&P) Supervision: 
a. P&P Officers will verify that each sexual/violent offender remanded 

to their supervision has complied with the statutory obligation to 
register with the appropriate agency within three (3) business days 
of arrival. The Officer can do this through written documentation, a 
phone call, or DOJ’s SVOR registry on the internet. This contact 
will be documented in offender’s OMIS chronological history.  The 
Officer must also record the intended address of the offender. 
i. when applicable for high-risk sexual offenders, P&P Officer 

will verify the offender’s residence and place of employment 
comply with court-ordered conditions and/or the requirements 
of §45-5-513, MCA.  

b. If the offender has not registered, the P&P Officer will follow the 
procedures outlined in Section B.1 above. 

c. The offender must register a change in residence, name, student, 
employment, or transient status with the agency last registered with, 
in person, within three (3) business days.  The agency must be 
contacted to verify the offender has registered these changes.   
i. Offender must complete SVOR-Change of Information Form to 

inform the DOJ of any changes in status. 
ii.  when applicable for high-risk sexual offenders, P&P Officer 

will verify the offender’s residence and place of employment 
comply with court-ordered conditions and/or the requirements 
of §45-5-513, MCA.  

iii.  P&P Officer will forward a copy to the DOJ.  If e-mailing to 
dojsvor@mt.gov, email subject line must have the offender’s 
registration type, name, and date of birth. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
PRC Liaison 
 
 
 
 
IPPO/PRC Liaison 
 
 
 
 

 
P&P Officer 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Offender/ 
P&P Officer 
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iv. Documentation that these notifications were completed should 
be maintained in OMIS. 

d. If an offender fails to register or keep registration current, Officer 
will complete P&P 100-1(A) Report of Violation pursuant to P&P 
100-1 Report of Violation on Probationers and Parolees.  If the 
offender is residing in a county other than the sentencing county, the 
Officer will also contact the county attorney of the county where 
new criminal charges may be pursued. 

e. Officer will inform offender of the requirement to provide a DNA 
sample following the procedures of DOC Policy 1.5.13, DNA 
Testing/Collection of Biological Samples. 

 

3. Registration of Offenders Placed in any PPD Program/Facility: 
a. Verification will be made that each sexual/violent offender being 

referred to or placed in a PPD program/facility has complied with 
the statutory obligation to register with the appropriate local agency.  
The Officer can do this through written documentation, a phone call, 
or DOJ’s SVOR registry on the Internet. This contact will be 
documented in the offender’s OMIS chronological history. 

b. If the offender has not registered, the Officer will follow the 
procedures outlined in Section B.1 above. 

c. The Officer must notify DOJ of the change in residence status by 
having the offender complete the SVOR-Change of Information 
Form and forwarding a copy to the DOJ. If e-mailing to 
dojsvor@mt.gov, email subject line must have the offender’s 
registration type, name, and date of birth. Documentation that this 
notification was completed should be maintained in OMIS. 

d. Verification will be made that a DNA sample has been collected 
(see DOC Policy 1.5.13, DNA Testing/Collection of Biological 
Samples). 

 

4. Registration of persons moving to Montana on interstate transfer: 
a. The Interstate Compact Section will review all interstate 

applications coming in to the state of Montana to determine if the 
offender meets the registration requirements of a sexual or violent 
offender. If registration is required, the offender shall provide a 
biological sample for DNA analysis. The supervising Officer will 
be notified so that these requirements are included in the supervision 
conditions if the offender is accepted. 

b. If an offender has a tier-level designation from the other state or the 
federal government, Interstate Section will notify DOJ, which will 
determine whether to give the offender the level designation 
assigned by the other state or federal government.    

c. The P&P Officer will be responsible for having the offender 
complete registration following the procedures outlined in Section 
B.1 above upon acceptance. 

  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
IPPO/PRC Liaison/ 
P&P Officer 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Interstate Section 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
P&P Officer 
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C. SEXUAL OFFENDER LEVEL DESIGNATION OF RISK TO RE-OFF END 
 

1. Notification: A notice indicating the level designation assigned to a sexual offender being released 
from a state correctional facility will be prepared by prison treatment staff and provided to the 
DOJ and local agency. 

  

2. Request for Designation:  When a P&P Officer/IPPO determines that the court did not impose a 
sexual offender level designation at the time of sentencing on an offender who was sentenced after 
October 1, 1997 and is required to register with the DOJ as a sexual offender, the P&P 
Officer/IPPO will research the offender’s file to determine whether a psychosexual evaluation was 
completed. The evaluation must be completed by a qualified evaluator and recommend a tier-level 
designation. 
a. PPD 1.5.1001(C) Request for Sexual Offender Level Designation is completed by the P&P 

Officer/IPPO, noting whether the psychosexual evaluation was completed and the tier-level 
designation recommended. 

b. If evaluation was completed, the P&P Officer/IPPO will: 
i. Review Request with the offender and advise that he/she may seek counsel before signing 

the document. 
ii.  Advise offender that, if he/she objects to the recommended designation, he/she is entitled 

to a hearing before the court pursuant to §46-23-509, MCA, and has a right to counsel at 
the hearing. 

iii.  Offender seeks counsel or signs Request form agreeing or disagreeing to the tier-level 
designation. 

c. Request for Sexual Offender Level Designation is submitted to Deputy Chief/POII for review 
and signature, then forwarded to the County Attorney in the sentencing jurisdiction or the 
county in which the offender resides.  A copy of the Request will be placed in offender’s field 
file and a copy is forwarded to the DOJ’s Prosecution Services Bureau Chief. 

d. County Attorney files a petition with the sentencing District Court or the District Court for the 
county in which the offender resides, requesting a tier-level designation be assigned to the 
offender. 

e. P&P Officer/IPPO will add tier-level designation to OMIS under Offender Information when 
notified of the designation given by the court. 

 

E. SEXUAL/VIOLENT OFFENDER REGISTRATION REQUIREMENT S  
 

1. A sexual/violent offender must register with the local agency within three (3) business days of 
entering a county of Montana if he/she: 
a. will be residing or setting up a temporary residence for 10 days or more or for an aggregate 

period exceeding 30 days in a calendar year; 
b. was sentenced for a sexual or violent offense in another state and will reside in Montana for a 

period of 10 days or more,  
c. returns to Montana after residing out of state;  
d. temporarily works or attends school in Montana for a period of 10 days or more; or 
e. is a transient. 

 

2. If the offender regularly resides in more than one county or city or town, he/she is required to 
register with the appropriate agency of each county or city or town. The agency will require the 
offender to provide the locations of all residences and designate one of them as the offender’s 
primary residence. 
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3. If the offender is a transient, he/she must report monthly, in person, to the agency in the county 
where he/she is living on the day designated by the agency and during normal business hours.   

 

4. Offenders must appear in person at the agency last registered with and give notice within three (3) 
business days when changing name, residence, employment, or student or transient status.  A post 
office box is not sufficient unless a street address is also provided.  If an offender does not have a 
street address, he/she must register as a transient and provide a description of the physical 
location(s) where he/she stays. 
a. Before the offender moves to another state, he/she must inform the last agency registered with 

in person of the move to keep their Montana registration file current; and  
b. He/she must register in the new state within the time frame required by the new state.   
c. If the offender moves back to Montana, registration is required within three (3) business days. 
 

5. Offenders physically absent from their county of residence for more than 10 consecutive days will 
register in the county where they are physically located on the 11th day even if they claim to 
maintain a residence in that county.  If offender is present in any subsequent county for more than 
24 hours, he/she is required to register in that subsequent county until he/she registers again in 
his/her county of residence. 

 

6. Registered sexual offenders will receive a verification letter in the mail from the Montana DOJ 
once a year if designated a Level 1 sex offender, every 180 days if designated a Level 2 sex 
offender, or every 90 days if designated a Level 3 sex offender.  If the offender has not received 
an offender verification letter within a year [or within 180 or 90 days (based on Level)], the 
offender should call (406) 444-2497. 
a. For a transient offender, the DOJ will mail the verification form to the agency with which he/she 

last registered.  
b. Offenders will have 10 days to sign the letter before a notary public and return it, in person, to 

the local agency with which they last registered.  
c. Offenders are required to provide fingerprints and have a current photograph taken when 

necessary in order to keep registration current.  
 

7. Failure to register or keep registration current and accurate, may result in conviction of a separate 
felony offense and a sentence to prison for up to five (5) years, a fine of $10,000, or both. 

 

8. The offender must pay for costs associated with registration if able and will be notified of the costs 
and to what agency they must be paid. 

 

9. Sexual offenders must register in states where they work or attend school. 
 

IV.  CLOSING: 
 

Questions concerning this procedure shall be directed to the Deputy Chief or designee or Department’s 
Legal Unit. 
 

V. FORMS: 
 

PPD 1.5.1000 (A) Duty to Register Letter 
PPD 1.5.1000 (B) GPS Fee Waiver Request 
PPD 1.5.1000 (C) Request for Sexual Offender Level Designation 
SVOR DOJ Change of Information Form 
SVOR DOJ Sexual/Violent Offender Registration Form 


